What is the opposite of two? A lonely me & a lonely you. ~ Richard Wilbur

Image

I know I have it better than most women that have husbands that travel. I see my husband a few times a week. Unlike some wives who don’t see their husbands for weeks at a time, months even. I’m blessed to see my husband as much as I do. Right now I’m on day three. I think I will see him tomorrow and we might go look at a house together.

The first day or two I find plenty of things to do to keep myself busy. I clean like a mad woman and catch up on laundry. Isn’t it amazing how much you can get done when no one is home? But after all the house chores are caught up is when I really start to miss him.

While our relationship is not perfect I feel It is solid.  In a good relationship to be the wife of a trucker is tough to put it mildly. In a shaky relationship, a trucker’s wife may easily suffer emotionally from lack of attention, lack of appreciation, or lack of support.

It takes a strong, independent, understanding woman to be a trucker’s wife and support her husband wholeheartedly and she should be cherished. Which my husband does. When he does come home he is here, present in our lives. He doesn’t spend the day playing video games. We make time for each other even if it’s popcorn and a redbox movie.

images (3) images (5) images (6)

 So if you are a woman out there who has a husband that works away from the home make the effort to SHOW him you are a supportive, trusting, understanding woman at home. Treat him with respect and admire him and know how tough his job is on the road everyday.

If you are a man reading this, on the road and if you have THAT woman at home show her you appreciate her and with the same understanding,trust, support and respect. Show her the love she deserves, don’t just utter the words. Show her!

Don’t be pitiful or whiny. Make yourself confident, useful and capable. Most of all be thankful. You can do this!!!

Leave a Reply

