b7e55075a5bd8f1ede903bdfb7358445.jpg

Freezer Cooking for the weekend

I love freezer cooking it makes the busy weekends so much easier!

LAZY DAY TURKEY STEW 

3-4 lbs Ground Turkey Meat
2 cups approx. of baby red potatoes ( you can use whatever kind you have in the pantry really)
3 cups approx. of baby carrots (chopped or whole, whatever you prefer)
2 onions chopped
6 celery stalks chopped
1 can of Kidney Beans or Chick Peas (whatever you have, we like kidney beans)
Salt & Pepper to taste
1 can of tomato Sauce
2 tbsp of Brown Sugar

Split between two freezer Ziplock Bags, remove air & seal, mix around in bag, lay flat and freeze.

Instructions to pre-write on zip lock with sharpie pen,
-Thaw
-Add 1 Cup of water or Chicken broth, cook on low 4-6hours

Enjoy with fresh bread or on it’s own.

Macaroni & Cheese with Broccoli

1 box (13.25oz) of rotini, shell or macaroni pasta

– 4 TB butter
– 4 cups shredded cheese (I used a Colby-Jack blend, but Cheddar would work great too)
– 4 oz cream cheese, at room temperature, cubed
– 1.5 cup of milk
– 12oz evaporated milk
– 1/4 cup sour cream
– 1/2 tsp salt
– 1/2 tsp pepper
– 1/2 tsp paprika

1. In your zip lock bag mix together butter, cream cheese, milk, evaporated milk, sour cream, salt, pepper and paprika. Try to stir out as many lumps as possible. Add Frozen Broccoli, I used 2 cups.  then divide in to two zip lock bags to stretch this for 2 meals, seal and freeze.
 
Instructions on Zip lock Bags prior to filling with Sharpie Pen.

Thaw,
Dump in Crock pot
Stir in UNCOOKED noodles
Top with Shredded Cheese   (DO NOT mix at this point. The cheese will melt and make it’s way through the noodles.)
-Cover and cook on LOW for 3-4 hours.

These are recipes I’m trying from:  http://www.mommyconnections.ca/ridge-meadows/2013/01/01/freezer-crock-pot-recipes-for-the-month-on-a-budget/

Tuesday blues day

I ain’t talking about the music. The anxiety and depression is bad this morning. I had a few really good days and now I’m back to ground zero. At least that’s how it feels. I just want my heart to stop hurting. I don’t even care anymore why it hurts I just want it to stop hurting. I want to be happy and not have try so hard. I want my smiles not to be forced and my days filled with light. I want this for myself but most of all I want it for my kids…my husband. I told the Doctor I have a very noisy soul. I’m not sure if he understood what that meant or what it feels like. How can you describe that feeling to anyone who has not gone through it themselves?

The doctor asked me if I felt like I have different personalities. I guess I didn’t know what that meant. I said I have drastic mood changes but personalities? I still don’t know what that means really.

There’s a very snarky, sarcastic, direct, strong willed, dry sense of humored, take no prisoners side of me.

There’s a very hopeless, depressed, tired and emotional side of me.

Then there’s the very manic girl that feels like she can do anything and is playful and bouncy and funny and can get many things accomplished in one day.

Then there’s me?

……………and time goes on. It ticks away and can’t be wasted. Laundry to do, kitchen and bathrooms to clean, school work to help with, sporting events to attend…….with a smile.

Real or not real?